Christmas Joy

Happy Birthday, JESUS!

Happy Birthday, JESUS!

Where’s the love?  It is in our hearts, where it has always been.  It can, however, grow dim with lack of use or with neglect.

Checking the Christmas lights at the front of our house and on our Christmas tree, I likened the cables carrying the electricity to the bulbs to the love Jesus gives.

Just a short time ago, there were no lights adorning the trees in the garden or the one in our home, until we attached cables to strings of lights and plugged into a hydro source, then, voila , it brought the power needed to illuminate them.  They brought brightness into the darkness of evening.

Our lives can be dark with concerns at times, and we long for relief from the constant struggles.  This is when we need to trust in Jesus; because He is our true source of light.  He can take the load off our shoulders and brighten our hearts, minds and spirits.

Psalm 119:105 Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.  (NKJV)

How do we do that?  We reach out to God and trust Him.  We invite His Son, Jesus, into our hearts.  Having done this we at once become attached to a power greater than any earthly source. His strength and comfort will surge through us bringing a peace beyond compare – lighting our spirits and bringing us relief from what ails us.

Matthew 11:28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  (NKJV)

There’s an old adage that says, ‘A problem shared is a problem halved’  – – or something to that effect.  If you’ve ever shared a burden with another person, you have a small sense of how it helps to ease your pain.  Jesus provides peace and an easing of the pain of our troubles.  He is a friend and confidante that will listen and help.  Try it yourself and see.

Say this prayer:  “Dear Lord, I want to know you personally.  I know I am not perfect and have made poor choices in my life and I am sorry.  I am willing, with Your help, to turn away from my wrongs and turn to You.  I believe Jesus, that You died and rose again for me.  Please come into my life.  I receive You as my Saviour and Lord, as best as I know how, right now”.

Then we find a good Church that teaches from the Old and New Testaments.  We attend Sunday service and listen to the words spoken to us.  We join small groups or bible studies; we read books on spiritual growth and development, and best of all we get to decide to change.  Easier said than done, but well worth the effort.

HAPPY CHRISTMAS, Everyone.  May Peace abound wherever you are.

https://pattersmatters.wordpress.com

https://www.facebook.com/#!/skyscapes

Leave a Reply

